top of page

Highlights of the a sunny week in the city

Studying abroad in the spring semester meant that for a majority of my time in Copenhagen the weather was on the chilly side and I was used to sunset hours before dinner time. But for my last week I finished up final papers early and tried to spend every sunny minute the city offered out & about.

Everyone warned me how unreal Copenhagen was in the summer but nothing prepared me for the best ending to the best semester.

The parks!! Oh my gosh the parks!!

One of the things I've loved about this city is the green space everywhere. With the sun out and the weather heating up it seems like all the people came flooding out of their homes and set up shop on the lawns of these large parks. Most of my meals during this week happened around a grill - with takeout on a blanket during sunset - or with friends in my RCs courtyard.

Fredriskborg Have - Islands Brygge - Amager Faelled Parkrun - Jaegersborg Dryhavn - 'The Lakes' - Kongens Have. All within 30 minutes of my home and all spaces of warmth and happiness I cannot wait to visit again.

Not only was there an abundance of things to do inside the city ((accessible by my bike - miss her already)) but finals week allowed for the opportunity to finish papers early and take some trips outside of the city. For me this meant the most wonderful afternoon with my visiting host family, renting a car and discovering 'The White Cliffs', and finding the last of The Hidden Giants (+checking out the coolest museum ARKEN with 40 statues of clowns)!

As much as I love the city being able to see the small danish towns and ride my bike along miles of path next to the ocean is what really makes this city so special. I get to spend the day outside basking in sunlight and then head home in under 20 minutes to city center for a delicious dinner and fun night out!

Above all what made this last week so bittersweet was knowing it was the last time I would get to spend with all the friends I had made in the last four months. I know without a doubt that I will be back to Copenhagen one day soon - but I don't know when I'll get to see these people again or if we will ever all be in the same city. So to commemorate our last days together we rented go-boats (a must do in Copenhagen!), ate lots of family dinners, and cried together while packing up our apartment.

Copehagen - my heart is already breaking at the thought of saying goodbye! Thank you for a wonderful sunny last week <//3

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page